facebook

Department of Mathematics

Mathematics Department

The Department of Mathematics is a place that brings motivated students, professors, and professionals together.  We train high-quality students to become problem solvers.  Our majors are active and engaged in campus life.  Students clubs such as Math Club, and Engineering Club are among the most active on campus.  This allows us to provide exceptional future prospects to all those who study with us or collaborate with us.

The College of Sciences offers students a scientific education to meet the needs of the 21st century, allowing them to compete for a variety of careers in an increasingly complex and evolving world.

image

Our advisors are here to help. Proper advising will serve to efficiently guide you through all the necessary steps towards your academic goals. The combination of a Mathematics major and Computer Science minor makes students very attractive to employers.

Mathematics and Computer Science

The department offers two undergraduate majors: 1) Mathematics, and 2) Mathematics/Secondary Education.We also offer a pre-engineering program.

Career Options and Recent Alumni

Numerous career options are available in the field of Mathematics.

Scholarships

There are several undergraduate scholarships and graduate assistantships available to students majoring in Mathematics.

image

We have three active student clubs – Mathematics Club, and Engineering Club.

Policies

In addition to the general AUM Academic policy, the department issues several policies such as the Calculator policy, Math Lab policy, Placement policy, etc.

image

Our department hosts the following events: research colloquia, math/engineering club activities, Southern Regional Algebra Conference (SRAC), Sonia Kovalevsky Mathematics Day.

Research Interests and Seminars

Our faculty conduct various types of research in the areas of mathematical sciences.  Students have opportunities to participate in research projects.

AUM-Brunno-Oliveira

Our faculty members are professionals in the field of Mathematical Sciences. They are active in research in all areas of Mathematical Sciences. Please check out the individual listings of each faculty member to learn more about their specific research areas.

 

Faculty and Staff

Location : Goodwyn Hall 213
Mail Address  : P.O. Box 244023 Montgomery, AL 36124
Phone : 334-244-3677
E-mail : jberube@aum.edu

Office Hours : 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday – Friday
Physical Address for Deliveries : 7061 Senators Drive Montgomery, AL 36117
Fax : 334-244-3826

Wang, Yi
Professor and Department Chair
213C Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3318
ywang2@aum.edu

Goddard II, Jerome
Associate Professor/Assistant to the Chair
213B Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3023
jgoddard@aum.edu

Berube, Julie
Administrative Associate
213 Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3677
jberube@aum.edu

Aga, Mosisa
Associate Professor
310O Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3335
maga@aum.edu

Chen, Yue
Associate Professor
310S Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3261
ychen5@aum.edu

Chen, Tianran
Assistant Professor
310A Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3322
tchen1@aum.edu

Hand, Cheryl
Lecturer
126 Goodwyn Hall
334-244-5207
chand1@aum.edu

Lee, Kin (Enoch)
Associate Professor
310R Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3324
elee4@aum.edu

Lipham, David
Lecturer
126 Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3075
dlipham@aum.edu

Lo, Ting
Math Lab Coordinator
310 Taylor Center
334-244-3717
tlo1@aum.edu

McDonald, Gloria
Lecturer
144K Liberal Arts
334-244-3203
gmcdona1@aum.edu

Moore, Lili
Lecturer
126 Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3163
lmoore@aum.edu

Park, Jieun
Assistant Professor
213D Goodwyn Hall
334-244-5339
jpark18@aum.edu

Paulk, Rachel
Lecturer
126 Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3211
rpaulk@aum.edu

AUM-Rhodes-Peele

Peele, Rhodes
Adjunct
334-244-3322
rpeele@aum.edu

Ragland, Matthew
Professor and Associate Provost
103 Administration
334-244-3138
mragland@aum.edu

Smith, Luke
Associate Professor and MPS Director
311C Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3438
lsmith4@aum.edu

Underwood, Robert
Professor
310G Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3325
runderwo@aum.edu

Valentine, Sarah
Lecturer
144B Liberal Arts
334-244-3989
svalenti@aum.edu

Part-time Faculty

John Bohannon, Ph.D.jbohann2@aum.edu
Scott Brown, Ph.D.sbrown7@aum.edu
Wangshu Chen Cobb, M.Ed.wchen1@aum.edu
Johnny Daryanani, M.Ed.jdaryana@aum.edu
Twila Horne, M.Ed.thorne1@aum.edu
Rhodes Peele, Ph.Drpeele@aum.edu
Nicole Reed, M.Ed.nreed1@aum.edu
Wen Tang, M.S.wtang1@aum.edu
Shayla Tullis M.Ed.schambl1@aum.edu

Recently Retired Faculty

Joe Albree, M.S., Assistant Professoraalbree@aum.edu
Scott Brown, Ph.D., Associate Professorsbrown7@aum.edu
Donald A. Chambless, PhD, PE,
Emeritus Professor of Mathematics and Pre-Engineering
dchamble@AUM.edu
Joan Powell, Ed.D, Assistant Professorjpowell@aum.edu
Rhodes Peele, Ph.D., Associate Professorrpeele@aum.edu
Furman Smith, Ph.D., Associate Professor Emeritusfsmith@aum.edu

Want More Info About AUM?

Location

Taylor Center 101

Address

7400 East Drive Montgomery, AL 36117

Office Hours

8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday

Call Today

334-244-3000

Fax

334-244-3795

E-mail

admissions@aum.edu

Interactive Map

Start your search by viewing our interactive map of Auburn University at Montgomery. Discover details including location, number of students, and more.

Click on the interactive map to learn more about the colleges throughout Auburn University at Montgomery.