facebook

Department of Biology and Environmental Sciences

Biology and Environmental Sciences Department

Through teaching, research and service, the Department of Biology and Environmental Science seeks to advance understanding of the sciences at all levels, from molecules to ecosystems. Biology education at AUM strives to strengthen core disciplinary knowledge and to foster synergies that arise from the relationships students build with our creative and collaborative faculty.

AUM-Biology-Class-dissection

The College of Sciences offers students a scientific education to meet the needs of the 21st century, allowing them to compete for a variety of careers in an increasingly complex and evolving world.

Advising

Biology, Environmental Science, and GIS majors are advised by professional advisors in the office of Central Advising and by faculty in their junior and senior year.

AUM_Chelsea-Ward-Animal-Behavior-class_3

Biology offers three undergrad degrees; Biology, Environmental Science, and Geographical Information Systems. The Biology and Environmental Science degrees have several concentrations to help you prepare for graduate school or to focus your interests for a particular career.

Study Abroad

Study abroad short courses, summers or semesters are routinely offered through our membership in the Organization for Tropical Studies (OTS). From time to time, the Biology Department may sponsor other study abroad field experiences.

News

Are you interested in a Biology or GIS related minor? Study geography – learning to understand how the interaction between people and their environments impacts culture, economics, ideology and much more

Giving to the College of Sciences

The AUM College of Sciences strives to ensure that students have every opportunity to successfully complete their educational goals. Part of that effort is our commitment to helping students to pay for costs associated with their education.

AUM_Undergraduate_research_1

Undergraduate research is a way to get research experience before leaving college. As a student you will work closely with a faculty advisor on a shared research project. The research options are almost limitless and the experience is invaluable.

Dauphin Island Sea Lab

Biology and Environmental Science students enrolled at AUM may take marine biology courses at the Sea Lab in Mobile, Ala. Courses taken at this marine biology station can substitute for upper division Biology and Environmental Science elective credits.

AUM-Brunno-Oliveira

The faculty in AUM’s Department of Biology and Environmental Science are involved in a wide range of exciting research projects. Projects range from biofuel processing to anuran immunology. Please check out the individual listings of each faculty member to learn more about their specific research areas.

Faculty and Staff

Location : Goodwyn Hall 301
Mail Address  : P.O. Box 244023 Montgomery, AL 36124
Phone : 334-244-3316
E-mail :biology@aum.edu

Office Hours : 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Monday – Friday
Physical Address for Deliveries : 7061 Senators Drive Montgomery, AL 36117
Fax : 334-244-3826

John-Aho-AUM-College of Sciences-Biology

Aho, John
Associate Professor
015 Goodwyn Annex
334-244-3787
jaho@aum.edu

Costa, Gabriel
Program Director for Environmental Science and GIS, Associate Professor
310 U Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3229
gcosta@aum.edu

Cuba, Nick
Associate Professor
209 A Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3316
ncuba@aum.edu

Danderson, Clark
Lecturer
311 C Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3208
cdanders@aum.edu

Foster, Rachel
Lecturer
209 O Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3316
rfoster9@aum.edu

Grilliot, Matthew
Assistant Professor
310 T Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3415
mgrillio@aum.edu

AUM-Dr-Hoehu-Ha-GIS

Ha, Hoehun Bryan
Associate Professor
209B Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3291
hha@aum.edu

Haddix, Pryce
Associate Professor
311 B Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3333
phaddix@aum.edu

Koelling, Vanessa
Assistant Professor
016 Goodwyn Annex
334-244-3144
vkoellin@aum.edu

Kroft, Tim
Associate Professor
310 P Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3331
tkroft@aum.edu

O’Neill, Ann Marie
Assistant Professor
209 M Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3351
aoneill@aum.edu

O’Brien, Laurie
Administrative Associate
334-244-3534
lobrien@aum.edu

Okeke, Benedict
Professor/Distinguished Research Professor/Director of the Bioprocessing & Biofuel Research Lab
310 V Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3508
bokeke@aum.edu

Rogers, Ben
Lab Coordinator
301 D Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3868
brogers9@aum.edu

Rover, Quintavius
Lecturer

334-244-3316
grover@aum.edu

Schmaeman, Cynthia
Lab Coordinator
301 E Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3988
cschmaem@aum.edu

Stein, Claudia
Assistant Professor
209 Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3145
cstein1@aum.edu

AUM-Karen-Stine

Stine, Karen
Professor
209 C Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3689
kstine@aum.edu

AUM-Sue-Thomson

Thomson, Sue
Associate Professor
203 B Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3275
sthomson@aum.edu

Stoeckel, Denise
Lecturer
334-244-3316
dstoecke@aum.edu

AUM-Chelsea-Ward

Ward, Chelsea
Distinguished Teaching Professor/Head
310 E Goodwyn Hall
334-244-3317
cward3@aum.edu

Want More Info About AUM?

Location

Taylor Center 101

Address

7400 East Drive Montgomery, AL 36117

Office Hours

8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday

Call Today

334-244-3000

Fax

334-244-3795

E-mail

admissions@aum.edu

    Let’s GO!

    Virtual Map of Campus Life.

    Start your adventure to campus life by clicking on our interactive map. Discover the AUM scene and its unique work-life balance. Take a virtual tour of featured facilities that provide comfort, convenience, exercise, and relaxation. Join a community of independent living and group activities that offset the challenging work week.