ASEF 2021 Awards Ceremony (Senior Division)

SPECIAL AWARD RECOGNITIONS

American Meteorological Society

Winning projects should be limited to the atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrologic sciences The winners are: Emma Seidel, Malaika Dsa

American Psychological Association Award

This award recognizes the top project in the category of Behavior & Social Sciences. The winner will receive a certificate of recognition The winner is: Adrianna Orsi

ASM Materials Education Foundation

The winner will receive a certificate The winner is: Luke Tessier

Association for Women Geoscientists

The winner will receive a certificate The winner is: Amitis Moradkha

MDA Award – Missile Defense Agency

The winner will receive a certificate The winners are: Braden Noh, Akshat Yaparla, Ashraf Mansour, Cary Xiao

Mu Alpha Theta Award

This award is presented for the project that best demonstrated challenging, original, thorough, and creative investigation of a problem using mathematics. The winner will receive a certificate of recognition.

The winner is: Jaeyoung Lee

NASA Earth System Science Award

This award will be given to the student whose project offers the greatest insight into earth's interconnected systems. The winner will receive a certificate of achievement. The winner is Dakota Perry

Naval Science Award

Sponsored by: Office of Naval Research

This award recognizes three students who demonstrated excellence in science research or engineering design. The winners will receive a certificate of achievement, a medallion, and a \$75 gift card to follow.

The winners are: Akshat Yaparla, Braden Noh

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

The NOAA Award will go to one individual selected from among all general award categories whose research emphasizes NOAA's mission of Science, Service, and Stewardship The winner is Emma Seidel

Ricoh Sustainable Development Award

This award recognizes the project that best reflects the principles of sustainability --balancing economic development with environmental responsibility. The winner will receive a certificate of recognition.

The winner is: Malaika Dsa

Society for In Vitro Biology

Winners should be in 11th grade with an exhibit in the area of plant or animal in vitro biology or tissue culture. A formal letter of congratulations will be sent to the winner. The winner is: Catherine Kung

Yale Science and Engineering Association Award

Sponsored by: Yale Science and Engineering Association

This award will be given to the most outstanding 11th grade project in the areas of computer science, engineering, physics, or chemistry. In extraordinary cases, it may be awarded to 10th or 12th grade. The winner will receive a certificate and a medallion to follow. The winner is: Xiaoyi Ma

U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)

Certificate and Social Media Toolkit The winner is: Ahnaf Hossain

U.S. Metric Association

The winners will receive a certificate of achievement The winner is: Jordon Jennings

U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize

If the student wishes to enter the State competition, the student winner(s) must enter their SJWP State competition by registering at <u>www.sjwp.org</u> and uploading their research paper. (Receiving a regional award does not automatically enter the project into the state competition. This is a separate step that the winner must do. <u>The deadline for the state competition is April 15,</u> <u>2021</u>. For questions, please contact Brad Lovett at <u>blovett@wef.org</u>.

The winners are: Jaeyoung Lee, Amitis Moradkha, Emma Seidel

United States Air Force

The winners will receive a certificate of achievement The winners are: Akshat Yaparla Now we will announce the placement winners of each category. A judging panel of over 40 scientists and engineers determined which projects scored highest in each category. Students who placed 1st, 2nd or 3rd will receive a ribbon and certificate. In addition, the 1st place winner of each category will receive a \$100 cash prize and 2nd place will receive \$50 cash prize.

CATEGORY AWARDS

Category 100: Animal

1st Eva Ledvina

2nd Jarrett Huckaby

Category 200: Behavioral & Social Science

1st Morgan Dotson & Kenny Nguyen

2nd Adrianna Orsi

3rd Maddison Canzano

Category 300: Cellular & Molecular Biology

1st Rishab Samant 2nd Shreya Sunil

3rd Dev Mehta

Category 400: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Materials Science

1st Kailyn Grant

2nd Yewon Lee

3rd Luke Tessier

Category 500: Engineering, Computer Science and Mathematics

1st Madhushalini Balaji

2nd Catherine Kung

3rd Braydon Noh

Category 600: Energy Chemical Physical 1st Naeim Mahjouri Category 700: Earth & Environmental 1st Malaika Dsa 2nd Jaeyoung Lee 3rd Amitis Moradkha

Category 800: Medicine & Health Science 1st Ashwin Prabhakar 2nd Mayu Nakano

3rd Xiaoyi Ma

Category 900: Physics & Astronomy

1st Michael Fulmer

2nd Makaila Jennings

3rd Tyler Taylor

Category 1000: Plant Sciences

1st Jade Adams

Category 1100: Computer Science& Mathematics

1st Longji Jerry Chen 2nd Cary Xiao 3rd Gregory Li

ASEF will also advance our top four Best of Fair winners directly to the Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) 2021. This year's event will be held virtually again this year due to COVID-19. The Alabama Academy of Science will cover all expenses for the four students to participate in ISEF as representatives of ASEF. This year's Best of Fair winners are (in no particular order):

Rishab Samant Madhushalini Balaji Longji Jerry Chen Kailyn Grant

Congratulations to all of our participants and winners!

- A few notes for winners:
 - 3.) This year's winners have received a variety of awards. We will mail all certificates and ribbons to your school. Please note, some of these awards may have a specific requirement for follow up action (especially cash prizes). Directions and any additional forms, paperwork or instructions will be included in your award packet. Please pay close attention to all stated deadlines to avoid any issues.
 - 4.) If you are advancing to the ISEF, we will send your paperwork to you for your registration package.