# **ASEF 2021 Awards Ceremony (Junior Division)**

# SPECIAL AWARD RECOGNITIONS

#### **ASM Materials Education Foundation**

The winner will receive a certificate The winner is: Lily Vilardi

#### **Broadcom Coding with Commitment**

The winning student will receive a \$250.00 Certificate and a RP 400 Personal Computer Kit. The winner is: Ambrose Brown

#### **Dauphin Island Award**

Sponsored by Dauphin Island. The junior award includes a scholarship to one of our camps at the Sea Lab

The winner is: Sera Stone.

#### Lemelson Early Inventor Prize

Sponsored by: Lemelson Foundation This award will recognize a young inventor creating a promising solution to real-world problems. The winner will receive a certificate and a \$100 cash award. The winner is: Austin Henderson

## MDA Award – Missile Defense Agency

The winner will receive a certificate The winners are: Connor Murphree, Nikita Prabhakar, Saha Sahishnu

#### **Naval Science Award**

Sponsored by: Office of Naval Research

This award recognizes a students who demonstrated excellence in science research or engineering design. The winners will receive a certificate of achievement and a medallion. The winners are: Connor Murphree, Sahishnu Saha

Now we will shift gears and announce the placement winners of each category. A judging panel of over 40 scientists and engineers determined which projects scored highest in each category. Students who placed 1<sup>st</sup>, 2<sup>nd</sup> or 3<sup>rd</sup> will receive a ribbon and certificate. In addition, the 1st place winner of each category will receive a \$100 cash prize and 2<sup>nd</sup> place will receive \$50 cash prize.

# CATEGORY AWARDS

Category 100: Animal

1<sup>st</sup> Makenna Burdick 2<sup>nd</sup> Sophia Guo

3<sup>rd</sup> Kameron Reddick

Category 200: Behavioral & Social Science

1<sup>st</sup> Sydney Allen

2<sup>nd</sup> Grace Nuzman

3<sup>rd</sup> Ariel Lumbatis

Category 300: Cellular & Molecular Biology (NONE FOR JR DIVISION)

Category 400: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Materials Science

1<sup>st</sup> Madeline Borchert 2<sup>nd</sup> Lily Vilardi 3<sup>rd</sup> Abigail Tankersly

Category 500: Engineering, Computer Science and Mathematics

1<sup>st</sup> Austin Henderson

2<sup>nd</sup> Christopher Valeri

3<sup>rd</sup> Mariama Diallo & Kamorian Osborne

Category 600: Energy Chemical Physical

1<sup>st</sup> Jeffrey Torrence 2<sup>nd</sup> Nikita Prabhakar Category 700: Earth & Environmental 1<sup>st</sup> Arian Phillips 2<sup>nd</sup> Joseph LeFevre 3<sup>rd</sup> Harshtha Chander & Ishita Rajput

Category 800: Medicine & Health Science 1<sup>st</sup> Grayson Whitman 2<sup>nd</sup> Rachel Dendy & Mary Baker 3<sup>rd</sup> Jalynn Braxton

Category 900: Physics & Astronomy

1<sup>st</sup> Sahishnu Saha 2<sup>nd</sup> Jackson Allen 3<sup>rd</sup> Joshua Minnon

Category 1000: Plant Sciences

1<sup>st</sup> Jackson Reiney 2<sup>nd</sup>. Jiwoo Park

## Category 1100: Computer Science& Mathematics

1<sup>st</sup> Connor Murphree

2<sup>nd</sup> Maddie Tillford

3<sup>rd</sup> Lua Markert

# Broadcom MASTERS Award (certificate)

The Broadcom MASTERS is the national competition for 6<sup>th</sup>, 7<sup>th</sup>, and 8<sup>th</sup> grade students who participate in affiliated science fairs. Our fair has the honor of selecting the top 10% of projects today to continue their journey to the national competition. Broadcom MASTERS nominees are invited to complete the online application, and are eligible for valuable prizes and awards including \$25,000, iPads, STEM summer camp, and more. This nomination is an honor, and distinguishes these projects as among the top 10% in the nation. From the complete list of entrants, the top 300 semi-finalists will be selected and announced next fall. We were very fortunate to have a student from our region selected as a Top 300 finalist in 2019! This list of 300 will be narrowed to 30 and those students who are selected will win an all-expense-paid trip to the Broadcom MASTERS finals from October 22 – October 27, 2021 in Washington DC.

This year's Broadcom MASTERS nominees are in no particular order:

- 1. Makenna Burdick
- 2. Connor Murphree
- 3. Maddie Tillford
- 4. Sydnee Allen
- 5. Madeline Borchert
- 6. Lily Vilardi
- 7. Austin Henderson
- 8. Arian Phillips
- 9. Joseph LeFevre
- 10. Grayson Whitman
- 11. Sahishnu Saha

Students will receive a certificate and further instructions on how to complete their application for the Broadcom MASTERS program.

## Congratulations to all of our participants and winners!

A few notes for winners:

- 1.) This year's winners have received a variety of awards. We will mail all certificates and ribbons to your school. Please note, some of these awards may have a specific requirement for follow up action (especially cash prizes). Directions and any additional forms, paperwork or instructions will be included in your award packet. Please pay close attention to all stated deadlines to avoid any issues.
- 2.) If you are advancing to the ISEF, we will send your paperwork to you for your registration package.