Skip to content

Honors Day celebrates outstanding students

Honors Day celebrates outstanding students

Honors Day celebrates outstanding students
Students Teva Stinson, Haley Toler, Rachel M. Pate, Abbey Fisher and Emily Cosgrove earned the highest honor presented by Auburn University at Montgomery during its 2019 Honors Day celebration on April 12.

The five students were recognized as Chancellor’s Scholars for the 2018-2019 academic year. The Chancellor’s Scholar Awards, which represent the highest level of distinction conferred to students on the basis of scholarship and service, are voted on by committees made up of deans and department heads from each of AUM’s colleges. Stinson earned top honors for the College of Business, while Toler represented the College of Education. Pate, Fisher and Cosgrove represented the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, College of Nursing and Health Sciences and College of Sciences, respectively.

a group of people posing for a photo

“We are very proud of the dedication these students have shown,” Auburn University at Montgomery Chancellor Carl A. Stockton said.

Stinson is a member of AUM’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter and Accounting Club. She has also served as vice president and community service chair for the National Society of Leadership and Success. Toler, a member of the National Collegiate Honor Society, has served as captain of AUM’s volleyball team. Pate, a Spanish major, recently co-authored a research paper with one of her instructors and is a member of Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and Omicron Delta Kappa. Fisher, who has set her sights on a career in speech language pathology, has been active in Phi Kappa Phi and has served as secretary of AUM’s chapter of the National Student Speech Language and Hearing Association. Cosgrove, a mathematics and computer science major, has served as president of the Math Club and is a recipient of the STEM MAKERS Scholarship.

Senior tennis player Santigo Veglia and senior volleyball player Carly Smart earned AUM’s Male and Female Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards. Baglia, a marketing major, is from Santa Fe, Argentina. Smart, a communications disorders major from Columbus, Ga., was named AUM volleyball’s Top Newcomer in 2017.

Outstanding Student award recipients for each of AUM’s program areas included:

College of Business

School of Accountancy: Teva Sharnay Stinson

Business Administration: Logan Charles Dudley

Information Systems: Luis E. Sarmiento

College of Education

Counselor, Leadership and Special Education: Laura Katherine Jayroe

Curriculum, Instruction and Technology: Brooke E. Williamson

Kinesiology: Haley Toler

College of Nursing & Health Sciences

School of Nursing: Amy Smith Barwick

Communication Disorders: Abbey Wagner Fisher

Medical and Clinical Laboratory Sciences: Cherelle Cox

College of Sciences

Biology and Environmental Sciences: Elizabeth C. Smith

Chemistry: Alyssa J. Muse

Mathematics & Computer Science: Emily Cosgrove

Psychology: Tara N. Trant

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Communication and Theatre: Marcus J. Godbee

Criminal Justice: Courtney Junkies

Economics: Gavin Payton

English and Philosophy: Anna Grace Meadows

Fine Arts: Megan Lofgren

History & World Languages & Cultures: Rachel M. Pate

Interdisciplinary Studies: Melissa Betz Payne

Sociology, Anthropology & Social Work: Reabecca Paige

Back To Top