Backgrounder | AUM


Established in 1967, Auburn University at Montgomery is an SACSCOC-accredited four-year regional institution located in Montgomery, Alabama. Auburn Montgomery has been ranked among the South’s top universities by U.S. News and World Report, was named one of the best colleges in the Southeast by The Princeton Review, is designated as a Military Friendly School, and is consistently chosen as the best university in the area. Our full- and part-time faculty and staff serve approximately 5,000 students, providing them with detailed knowledge and hands-on, practical experience, often from professionals in the field. Through AUM's five colleges — Arts and Sciences, Business, Education, Nursing and Health Sciences, and Public Policy and Justice — we offer 33 baccalaureate degrees, 20 master’s degrees, six educational specialist degrees, and one joint doctoral program with Auburn University. Our College of Business’s AACSB accreditation puts it in the top 1% of business schools worldwide. 

AUM at a Glance

Legal Name: Auburn University at Montgomery
Established: 1967
Classes Began: September 1969
Colors: Orange and Black (Pantone PMS 172 and Standard Black)
Mascot: Warhawks
Mascot Personality: Curtiss the Warhawk
Chancellor: Dr. Carl A. Stockton
Acting Provost: Dr. Mrinal Mugdh Varma
Academic Units: College of Business, College of Education, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, College of Nursing and Health Sciences, College of Sciences

By the Numbers

Faculty: Approximately 350 part- and full-time
Students: 4,257 undergraduates, 662 graduate (229 international)
Student-teacher ratio: 15:1
Alumni: More than 30,000

Additional AUM data is available through the Office of Institutional Effectiveness