Imagine. Invest. Inspire. - A campaign for Auburn University at Montgomery

Rasmussen establishes endowed scholarship for Justice and Public Safety

December 05, 2012


Dr. Kathleen Rasmussen has established a named endowed scholarship for undergraduate students enrolled in the Auburn Montgomery Department of Justice and Public Safety. To be eligible as a "Dr. Kathleen A. Rasmussen Scholar," the student must be pursuing an undergraduate degree in the field of Justice and Public Safety and must have a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.

As evidenced by her multiple degrees, Rasmussen considers higher education very important. At Auburn Montgomery, Rasmussen earned her Bachelor of Science in Justice and Public Safety in 1985, Master of Science in Public Administration in 1986, Master of Science in Justice and Public Safety in 1987, and Master of Political Science in 1988. She earned her Ph.D. from Auburn University in Public Administration and Public Policy in 1998.

"Gifts like Dr. Rasmussen’s will help AUM increase its scholarship opportunities for generations of talented, high-achieving students," said Chancellor John Veres. "I am deeply grateful for her belief in Auburn Montgomery and its mission and for her willingness to help the university succeed."

Endowed Named Scholarship levels are established by the Auburn University Foundation. The minimum named endowed scholarship is $25,000, but the endowment can be at any level above that. Funding at the major gift level can be spread over a five-year period. Once it reaches the minimum level, the endowment funding is permanent; investment proceeds are then used to award scholarship assistance for eligible students.

"It is gratifying to hear Dr. Rasmussen speak of her love for Auburn Montgomery and of supporting students who desire to make their careers in the field of Justice and Public Safety," said Marilyn Ray, Associate Vice Chancellor for Advancement. "I am honored to work with Dr. Rasmussen on this endowment."

← Back to News Releases